48th ANNUAL AMERICAN INDIAN FILM FESTIVAL® | 2023 NOMINEES

SAN FRANCISCO, CA – The American Indian Film Institute (AIFI) is proud to announce the nominees for the 48th annual American Indian Film Festival. The awards will be presented at the annual AIFF Film Awards Night on Saturday November 11, 2023 at the California Academy of Sciences in San Francisco.

The AIFF Film Awards Night (established in 1978) has recognized individuals for their achievements in film and acting. Ten prestigious awards will be recognized to those with outstanding accomplishments, including Best Film, Best Director, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Documentary Feature, Best Documentary Short, Best Live Short, Best Animated Short, and Best Music Video.

2023 Awards Nominees are as follows:

BEST FILM

Bones of Crows, Marie Clements, Director Café Daughter, Shelley Niro, Director Rosie, Gail Maurice, Director

BEST DIRECTOR

Gail Maurice, *Rosie*Jack Kohler & Katy Dore, *Gift of Fear*Marie Clements, *Bones of Crows*Shelley Niro, *Café Daughter*

BEST ACTRESS

Grace Dove (Aline Spears), Bones of Crows Isa Antonetti (Mili Longrunner), Gift of Fear Meadow Kingfisher (Rosie), The Beehive Melanie Bray (Fred (Frédérique), Rosie Star Slade (Yvette Wong), Café Daughter

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Keris Hope Hill (Rosie), *Rosie* Laura Vallejo (Kokonew) *Gift of Fear* Michelle Thrush (January Spears), *Bones of Crows* Sera-Lys (Katherine Wong), *Café Daughter*

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

Justin Johnson Cortez (Manny Donovan) *Gift of Fear* Phillip Forest Lewitski (Adam Whallach) *Bones of Crows*

BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE

Aitamaako'tamisskapi Natosi: Before the Sun, Banchi Hanuse, Director Sacred Dog "Sunka Wakhan" Jeremy Williams, Director Tough Skin, Montana Cypress, Director

BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT

Cara Romero: Following the Light, Kaela Waldstein, Director Fire Tender Roni Jo Draper, Marissa Lila, Directors O'\$6O' (What They've Been Taught) Brit Hensel, Director

BEST LIVE SHORT

Calling Jacob R. Pratt, Director Metal Belt Blackhorse Lowe, Director Ohskennón:ten Owi:ra (Little Dear) Jonathan Elliott, Director Redlights Eva Thomas, Director

BEST ANIMATED SHORT

A Bear Named Jesus, Terril Calder, Director Grape Soda In the the Parking Lot, Megan Kyak-Monteith, Director Heart Like a Pow Wow (Niimidi'iwin Ode'), Chief Lady Bird, Director No More Kîyâm, Lese Skidmore, Director Tiny, Ritchie Hemphill, Ryan Hache, Directors

BEST MUSIC VIDEO

Walk With Me feat. Adrian Sutherland, Brian Gregory, cont. RoseAnna Schick, and Kash Tahen, Directors Wallowing Bull, Noam Sol Azouz, Dan Lior, Directors Wiping the Tears, Dipankar Mukherjee, Director